Blog / Publication - Smart City Maturity Model

Smart City Maturity Model

28 criteria to evaluate the maturity of your Smart City approach



While more and more territories are undertaking sustainable and smart transition processes, regardless of their size or type, one question arises: how can one assess the maturity level of such transition? Although the latest Walloon Smart Cities Barometer highlights the progress made in Smart City dynamics in Wallonia, it can be difficult for a territory to properly evaluate itself on this subject if it does not possesses concrete criteria on which to base its assessment. This is why the Smart City Institute (SCI) has developed the Smart City Maturity Model (SCMM). A model that allows territories to evaluate their current Smart City maturity level.

Article written by Maximilien Servais - Researcher at the Smart City Institute

Image SCMM

In 2020, the SCI published its first model, the Smart Project Management Model (SPMM). This model enables territories to efficiently structure and manage a project, while integrating the "Smart" aspect into it. The SPMM can therefore be used iteratively throughout the entire life cycle of a project – known as the identification of prerequisites, planning, implementation, and evaluation.

The Smart City Maturity Model (SCMM) takes a more global approach. It is designed to assess the maturity of a territory's sustainable and intelligent transition process. Unlike the SPMM, which focuses on the management of a Smart project from A to Z, the SCMM concentrates on assessing the maturity of the process as a whole. Moreover, it focuses on managerial processes and not on technical aspects.

Therefore, this model can be used by any territory wishing to assess its Smart City maturity level. In order to help you understand the potential of this tool, the Smart City Institute examines a handful of key questions: What is a Smart City maturity model? Why assess your Smart City maturity level? Who is this model intended for? How is it designed? How to use this model?

 

Discover the Smart City Maturity Model

What is a Smart City maturity model ?

A maturity model provides a series of maturity levels that can be observed during the implementation of a process. In the context of Smart Cities, the maturity model aims to help a territory to assess its degree of progress with regard to its sustainable and smart transition.

Why assess your Smart City maturity level ?

Beyond providing indications on the degree of progress in the various processes studied, the model can be used to define priorities based on the elements that emerged from the evaluation. The model also provides a good overview of the territory's strengths and weaknesses.

Thus, the SCMM can define strategic objectives over different timeframes and determine an aspired level of maturity within a specific timeframe based on the newly established priorities.

Finally, the model can be combined with the use of other tools to help territories in their reflections on sustainable and smart transition (practical guides, for example).

Who is this model for ?

The SCMM will support any person willing to undertake or develop a Smart City dynamic on its territory. The term Smart City is used throughout the explanatory note and the matrices. It should therefore be specified that this term is used in a generic way to indicate any sustainable and smart transition approach on a given territory, which includes transition dynamics such as Smart Territory, Smart Region, etc.

Also, although this model is particularly relevant for reflections at the city and municipality level, it has been built so that it can also be adapted to other territorial scales (province, region, state, etc.).

How is the SCMM constructed ?

The maturity model we have developed is based on seven fundamental domains of the Smart City. Each of these domains is subdivided into four components that are assessed through a maturity scale with five levels - level 1 being the lowest and level 5 being the highest. The table below summarizes the model :

SCMM-matrix-EN

Governance and politics

Political support observes how well elected representatives support the Smart City approach. In terms of transparency, it assesses how accurately the public can observe the actions taken by decision-makers. The actors’ dynamics focuses on the partnerships and collaborations between the different stakeholders present on the territory (for example, public-private partnerships). Finally, citizen acceptance identifies the processes put in place to ensure citizen acceptance in the sustainable and smart transition dynamics of the territory.

Organisation and human resources

Initially, the leader component helps identify whether an individual is in charge of the Smart City dynamic for the territory and the demonstrated skills of the latter. The team component helps determine the team's multidisciplinary in order to assess whether that it has all the necessary skills to support the leader's vision and and help in the planning, implementation, and monitoring of the Smart City approach. The learning culture component looks at the expertise of the people involved and the means implemented to increase the team's skills and knowledge. Finally, transversality evaluates whether the territory operates in silos and the type of organizational structure that is established.

Planning and implementation

The context component assesses the extent to which people involved in the process are "knowledgeable" about their territory. Then, the strategy component looks at whether a strategy has been put in place and how comprehensive and consistent it is with all relevant parties in the area. The third component, dedicated to the implementation of the Smart City dynamic, evaluates if the strategy has been operationalised. The last one focused on communication, which identifies if the information related to the Smart City process has been communicated to all the stakeholders.

Monitoring and evaluation

In this area, a focus will be placed on indicators in order to determine whether measures have been identified to monitor the Smart City process. Data collection identifies how the data was collected, and thus whether the selected indicators were correctly quantified. The data summary and analysis component evaluates whether the territory is able to understand the causes of a phenomenon, to prescribe decisions based on the studied data and whether a visualization tool is used. Finally, the committees component will question whether strategic and/or operational committees are formed and whether they are involved throughout the entire process.

Data and Technology

First, the data governance component identifies the strategy in place to structure the multiple data streams. Then, with open data, as its name indicates, we study to what extent a territory opens its data. The interoperability component, on the other hand, helps evaluate whether the territory is trying to open up the solutions present on its territory. Finally, the model examines the steps taken by the territory to ensure the cybersecurity of its IT systems and networks.

Innovation

Within the SCMM framework, a solution or process is considered "innovative" when it does not yet exist as is in the territory concerned. Four types of innovation are considered and form the components of this domain. First, we examined technological innovation, which focuses on the creation or use of new technologies in a territory. Then, organizational innovation observes changes in the daily operations of a territory. Collaborative innovation looks at whether open and proactive governance structures have been put in place. As for conceptual innovation, it identifies whether new concepts/ reference frameworks/ paradigms that help reframe societal issues are introduced in the territory's sustainable and smart transition process.

Sustainability and Resilience

In this area, the three pillars of sustainability - the cornerstone of the Smart City - are studied: (1) the economy identifies the actions put in place to foster prosperity, (2) the society, studies the different elements put in place to promote social well-being and (3) the environment focuses on the actions taken to act on the ecological footprint of the approach. In parallel to these three components, the model also considers resilience, which focuses on the systemic responses to extreme disturbances in a territory. 

How to use the model ?

The Smart City Maturity Model is not intended to express a judgement on the state of progress of a territory's sustainable and smart transition process, but rather, in a logic of continuous improvement, to provide food for thought in order to make it evolve.

Moreover, the seven domains and the order in which they are presented do not imply their respective importance, given that each territory has its own specificities, the priorities are therefore likely to vary from one approach to another. In the same vein, having a high maturity level for all the components should not be an objective, since the point is to underline the evolutionary potential of the Smart City process based on the territory's features.

From a very practical point of view, the SCMM is made up of two documents:

  • The first is a set of seven matrices - one for each domain covered - containing the maturity criteria defined on three or five levels.
  • The second document is an explanatory note that contextualizes the criteria. In order to make the most of this maturity model, it is recommended that you read the explanatory note carefully before proceeding with the analysis and completing the matrices.

Conclusion

In conclusion, the SCMM is a model that can be used by any territory wishing to evaluate the progress of its Smart City approach in order to study the potential evolution of the transition undertaken.

Each territory will be able to use this model depending on its specificities by setting its priorities among the seven domains, by choosing the order in which it wishes to analyze them, and by keeping in mind that the objective is not necessarily to reach the maximum level for each component.

Finally, a careful reading of the explanatory note accompanying the model will allow the user to identify all the nuances and particularities of the model in order to better determine the levels that are most representative of the transition approach that is underway in the territory studied.

 

Download the SCMM

 


More information about the Smart Project Management Model

More information about the publications of the Smart City Institute


With the support of Wallonia for the Smart Region program (Digital Wallonia strategy)

   


Share this news

Blog / Publication - Smart City Maturity Model

Smart City Maturity Model

28 critères pour évaluer la maturité de votre démarche Smart City



Alors que de plus en plus de territoires entreprennent des démarches de transition durable et intelligente, et ce, quelle que soit leur taille ou leur nature, comment évaluer, aujourd’hui, le niveau de maturité de cette transition ? Malgré la progression du niveau d’avancement des dynamiques Smart City mise en exergue par le dernier Baromètre wallon des Smart Cities en Wallonie, il peut être difficile pour un territoire de s’évaluer correctement à ce sujet s’il ne dispose pas de critères concrets sur lesquels se baser. C’est pourquoi le Smart City Institute (SCI) a développé le Smart City Maturity Model (SCMM), un modèle permettant d’évaluer le niveau de maturité Smart City de son territoire.

Article rédigé par Maxilien Servais - Chargé de recherche au Smart City Institute

 

En 2020, le SCI publiait son premier modèle, le Smart Project Management Model (SPMM) - en français, "modèle de gestion de projet durable et intelligent". Ce dernier, permet de structurer et gérer efficacement son projet, tout en y intégrant l’aspect "Smart" des initiatives durables et intelligentes. Le SPMM peut dès lors être utilisé, de manière itérative, tout au long du cycle de vie d'un projet, à savoir : l’identification des prérequis, la planification, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation.

Le Smart City Maturity Model (SCMM) - soit "modèle de maturité Smart City"- pour sa part, adopte un angle plus global. Il a pour ambition de fournir un cadre de référence permettant d’évaluer la maturité de la démarche de transition durable et intelligente d’un territoire. À la différence du SPMM qui s’intéresse à la gestion d’un projet Smart de A à Z, le SCMM, se concentre donc, pour sa part, sur l’évaluation de la maturité de la démarche dans sa globalité. Par ailleurs, il est fondé sur des processus managériaux et non sur des aspects techniques.

Dès lors, ce modèle peut être utilisé par tout territoire qui désirerait évaluer son niveau de maturité Smart City. Afin de vous aider à cerner le potentiel de cet outil, le Smart City Institute revient sur quelques questions clés : Qu’est-ce qu’un modèle de maturité Smart City ? Pourquoi évaluer son niveau de maturité Smart City ? A qui s’adresse ce modèle ? Comment est-il construit ? Comment utiliser ce modèle ?

 

Découvrir le Smart City Maturity Model

Un modèle de maturité Smart City : De quoi s'agit-il ?

Un modèle de maturité permet d’observer une série de niveaux de maturité lors de l’implémentation d’un processus. Dans le contexte de Smart City, le modèle de maturité a donc pour objectif de permettre à un territoire d’évaluer son degré d’avancement quant à sa transition durable et intelligente.

Pourquoi évaluer son niveau de maturité Smart City ?

Au-delà d’indications sur l’état d’avancement des divers processus étudiés, le modèle sert à définir des priorités sur base des éléments qui ressortent de l’évaluation. Le modèle donne, par ailleurs, une bonne vue d’ensemble des forces et faiblesses du territoire.

Ainsi, le ce dernier pourra définir des objectifs stratégiques sur différents horizons temporels et déterminer un niveau de maturité ambitionné dans un laps de temps donné sur base des priorités établies.

Finalement, le modèle peut être combiné avec l’utilisation d’autres ouvrages pour aider les territoires dans leurs réflexions de transition durable et intelligente (guides pratiques, par exemple).

À qui s'adresse le Smart City Maturity Model ?

Le SCMM accompagnera toute personne désireuse d’entreprendre ou de faire évoluer une dynamique Smart City sur son territoire. Le terme Smart City est employé tout au long de la note explicative et des tableaux récapitulatifs, il convient donc de préciser que ce terme est utilisé de manière générique pour désigner toute démarche de transition durable et intelligente sur un territoire donné, ce qui inclut, dès lors, des dynamiques de transition Smart Territory, Smart Region, etc.

De plus, bien que ce modèle soit particulièrement pertinent pour alimenter les réflexions au niveau des villes et communes, il a été construit afin de pouvoir être adapté, également, aux considérations d’autres échelles territoriales (province, région, état, etc.).

Comment le SCMM est-il construit ? 

Le modèle de maturité que nous proposons repose sur sept domaines fondamentaux de la Smart City. Chacun de ces domaines est subdivisé en quatre composantes qui sont évaluées par le biais d’une échelle de maturité comprenant cinq niveaux – le niveau 1 étant le plus faible et le niveau 5, le plus élevé. Le tableau ci-dessous résume le modèle :

Smart City Maturity Model - Tableau récapitulatif

Gouvernance et politique

Le soutien politique observe à quel point les élus soutiennent la démarche Smart City. Au niveau de la transparence, il s’agit d’évaluer avec quelle précision le public peut observer les actions entreprises par les décideurs politiques. La dynamique d’acteurs s’intéresse, pour sa part, aux partenariats et collaborations entre les différentes parties prenantes du territoire (par exemple, les partenariats public-privé). L’adhésion citoyenne, finalement, identifie les processus mis en place pour assurer l’adhésion du citoyen à la dynamique de transition durable et intelligente du territoire.

Organisation et ressources humaines

Dans un premier temps, la composante leader permet de déterminer si une personne est en charge de la dynamique Smart City sur le territoire et les compétences démontrées par ce dernier. La composante équipe aide à identifier la pluridisciplinarité de celle-ci afin de s’assurer qu’elle présente toutes les compétences nécessaires au soutien de la vision du leader tout en permettant de soutenir la planification, la mise en œuvre et le suivi de la démarche Smart City. La composante culture d’apprentissage, quant à elle, observe l’expertise des personnes impliquées et les moyens mis en place pour que l’équipe augmente en compétences et en savoirs. Enfin, la transversalité évalue si le territoire fonctionne en silos , ou non, et le type de structure organisationnelle mise en place.

Planification et mise en œuvre

Le contexte évalue à quel point les personnes impliquées dans la démarche ont une (bonne) connaissance du territoire. Ensuite, la composante stratégie observe si une stratégie a été mise en place et à quel point celle-ci est complète et réalisée de manière cohérente vis-à-vis de l’ensemble des parties prenantes présentes sur le territoire. La troisième composante, dédiée à la mise en œuvre, évalue si la stratégie définie a été opérationnalisée et la dernière, centrée sur la communication, identifie si les informations liées à la démarche Smart City ont été communiquées à l’ensemble des parties prenantes.

Monitoring et évaluation 

Dans ce domaine, on s’intéressera aux indicateurs afin de savoir si des mesures ont été sélectionnées pour assurer le suivi de la démarche Smart City. La collecte des données identifie la manière dont les données ont étés collectées, et ainsi, si les indicateurs sélectionnés ont été correctement quantifiés. La composante analyse et synthèse des données évalue si le territoire est capable de comprendre les causes d’un constat, de prescrire des décisions sur base des données étudiées et si un outil de visualisation est utilisé. Enfin, avec la composante comités, il s’agira de questionner si des comités stratégiques et/ou opérationnels sont constitués et si ce(s) dernier(s) est(sont) impliqué(s) durant toute la démarche.

Données et technologies 

En premier lieu, la composante gestion des données identifie la stratégie mise en place pour structurer les diverses sources de données. Ensuite, avec l’ouverture des données, comme son nom l’indique, on étudie si le territoire ouvre ses données. La composante interopérabilité, pour sa part, aide à évaluer si le territoire essaye d’ouvrir les solutions présentes sur son territoire. Et finalement, le modèle, s’intéresse, dans ce domaine, aux mesures établies sur le territoire pour assurer la cybersécurité de ses systèmes et réseaux informatiques.

Innovation

Dans le cadre du SCMM, on considère qu’une solution ou un processus est « innovant » dès lors qu’il n’existe pas encore tel quel sur le territoire concerné. Quatre types d’innovation sont considérés et constituent les composantes de ce domaine. Tout d’abord, on s’intéresse à l’innovation technologique qui se concentre sur la création ou l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies sur un territoire. Par la suite, l’innovation organisationnelle observe les changements dans les opérations quotidiennes d’un territoire. Dans le cadre de l’innovation collaborative, on regarde si des structures de gouvernance ouvertes et proactives ont été mises en place. Quant à l’innovation conceptuelle, elle identifie si des nouveaux concepts/cadres de référence/paradigmes qui aident à recadrer des problèmes sociétaux sont introduits dans la démarche de transition durable et intelligente du territoire.

Durabilité et résilience

Dans ce domaine, les trois axes du développement durable – pierre angulaire de la Smart City - sont étudiés : (1) l’économie identifie les actions mises en place pour promouvoir la prospérité, (2) la société, étudie les différents éléments mis en place pour mettre en avant le bien-être social et (3) l’environnement se concentre sur les actions entreprises pour agir sur l’empreinte écologique de la démarche. En parallèle à ces trois composantes, le modèle propose de revenir également sur la résilience qui se concentre sur les réponses systémiques aux perturbations extrêmes d’un territoire.

Comment utiliser le modèle ?

Le Smart City Maturity Model n’a pas pour vocation de représenter un jugement de valeur quant à l’état d’avancement de la démarche de transition durable et intelligente d’un territoire mais plutôt, dans une logique d’amélioration continue, de fournir des pistes de réflexion afin de faire évoluer celle-ci.

Par ailleurs, les sept domaines et l’ordre dans lequel ils sont présentés ne présument pas de leur importance respective étant donné que chaque territoire est doté de ses spécificités, les priorités sont donc susceptibles de varier d’une démarche à une autre. Dans le même ordre d’idée, avoir un niveau de maturité élevé pour toutes les composantes ne doit pas être un objectif, puisque l’objectif est de souligner le potentiel d’évolution de la démarche Smart City sur base des caractéristiques qui sont propres au territoire.

D’un point de vue très pratique, le SCMM est constitué de deux documents :

  • le premier se compose de sept tableaux récapitulatifs – un pour chaque domaine abordé - reprenant les critères de maturité définis sur trois ou cinq niveaux
  • le second est une note explicative qui contextualise les critères en question.

Afin de tirer le meilleur parti de ce modèle de maturité, il est recommandé, avant de procéder à l’analyse et de compléter les tableaux, de lire attentivement la note explicative.

Le SCMM, en bref

En conclusion, le SCMM est un modèle qui peut être utilisé par tout territoire souhaitant évaluer l’état d’avancement de sa démarche Smart City, et ce non pas dans le but d’établir un diagnostic, mais bien d’étudier le potentiel d’évolution de la transition entreprise.

Chaque territoire pourra donc s’approprier ce modèle selon ses spécificités en fixant ses priorités entre les sept domaines, en choisissant l’ordre dans lequel il souhaite les analyser et en ayant également à l’esprit que l’objectif n’est pas, forcément, d’atteindre le niveau maximum pour chaque composante.

Enfin, une lecture attentive de la note explicative accompagnant le modèle permettra d’en cerner toutes les nuances et particularités afin d’identifier, au mieux, les niveaux les plus représentatifs de la démarche de transition en cours sur le territoire étudié.

 

Télécharger le SCMM

 


En savoir plus sur le Smart Project Management Model

Découvrir les outils du Smart City Institute


Avec le soutien de la Wallonie dans le cadre du programme Smart Région de la stratégie Digital Wallonia

   


Partagez cette news