Smart Inspiration Day 2022


Smart Inspiration Day 2022 - The annual event of the Smart City Institute is back in person, after two years organised remotely! This fifth edition will be an opportunity to discuss, through conferences, a panel and a networking session, the crucial role of management in the sustainable and intelligent transition of territories. 

SID22 Site Image large - Logo 

SMART INSPIRATION DAY 2022
An inspiring event followed by 2 hours of networking
Thursday 24th November 2022
From 14:00 to 18:30 - HEC Liège

REGISTER

How is management a particularly suitable and relevant entry point for initiating the cross-disciplinary reflection necessary for any sustainable and intelligent transition process? And what are the levers of action and tools at your disposal?


Because of the multiple issues to which it tends to provide a response, each sustainable and smart transition approach undertaken by a territory requires, quite logically, the involvement of different disciplines throughout the process. Although this dynamic is above all multidisciplinary, one of them is a real crossroads between the various disciplines involved in the development of Smart Cities: management (which involves, for example, the notions of strategy, governance, financing, business models, etc.). 

Through the various interventions of our experts and feedback from several cities, including Agadir (Morocco), Wavre or Hannut (Belgium), we propose to discuss together the useful, even essential role of management as well as models, methods and tools from a management school in the framework of a sustainable and smart transition of territories.

We will also have the pleasure of welcoming, during the plenary session, Mr Benoit Hucq, Director General of the Agence du Numérique, as well as Mr Wilfried Niessen, Dean of HEC Liège.

Conferences

#1
Formalising your Smart City strategy: what impact? Conference with Jessica Clément, post-doctoral researcher at the Smart City Institute
+

See this conference in details

s a territory engaged in a process of sustainable and smart transition, how can the formalisation of a Smart City strategy represent an asset? Does formalising a strategy make a difference and what are the concrete positive impacts identified? During her presentation, Jessica Clément, postdoctoral researcher at the Smart City Institute, will review the results of several research studies conducted at the Institute in order to highlight the significant impacts observed throughout the Smart City dynamic when territories have formalised their strategy.

 

Jessica Clement - SIDay22

Logo SCITag - Signature mail
 

By Jessica Clement, Post-doctoral researcher at the Smart City Institute. 

Dr. Jessica Clement is a post-doctoral researcher at the Smart City Institute of the HEC Liège School of Management, where she studies public policies and strategies for smart cities and sustainable urban transitions, as well as the development of collaborative ecosystems in smart cities.

She holds a PhD in Economics (with a focus on institutional political economy) from the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, and previously held a postdoctoral position at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), where she collaborated with the International Resource Panel (IRP) to contribute to reports on natural resource management and extractive industries governance. She also helped organise the World Resources Forum (WRF) 2019 in Geneva, Switzerland.

Before obtaining her PhD, Jessica completed the Master 1 in Economics (PSME) and the Master 2 in Applied Economics at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. She also holds a Bachelor's degree from McGill University (Canada).

#2
Smart Territory approach: a lever for the transition of the city of Agadir Conference with Zakaria Oulad, Municipal Councillor in charge of the "Agadir Smart City" project
+

See this conference in details

After being razed to the ground by an earthquake in 1960, Agadir managed to rise quickly from its ashes thanks to a surge of international solidarity. It became one of the most modern cities in Africa and a favourite destination for Europeans in search of sun and tranquillity. The city lowered its guard and experienced twenty years of continuous regression from the year 2000 onwards, before the coup de grace delivered by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Today, Agadir is rising a second time from its ashes. But if the will is the same, the challenges are different and the recipes for success must therefore also be adapted. It is a Smart Territory approach that is applied this time to make Agadir a metropolis of the future. The ultimate objective is to achieve a sustainable and intelligent transition for and by the citizens in compliance with the objectives of sustainable development and by using technologies - especially new ones - as a means of facilitating this approach. The first results are very promising.

 

Zakaria Oulad - SID 22

Logo - Ville Agadir - Fond blanc

By Zakaria Oulad, Municipal Councillor in charge of the Agadir Smart City project

Zakaria Oulad is a local councillor in charge of the Agadir Smart City project in Agadir-MAROC. He is also an experienced entrepreneur and senior consultant with a solid international experience in Strategy, Governance, Digitalisation and Business Development. He has worked for Accenture and Deloitte in Belgium and Australia before becoming an entrepreneur and then a politician. Zakaria holds a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science from HELB and a Master's degree in Management from ULB. He is married and has four children.

Discussions

#3
Why and how to professionalise your Smart City transition? Panel discussion with Amandine Caprasse (City of Wavre), Amélie Debroux (City of Hannut) and Isabelle Rawart (Agence du Numérique)
+

See this panel discussion in details

During this discussion, our panelists will share their feedback on the sustainable and smart management of territories in Wallonia. This panel will be an opportunity to review the key issues and best practices in the context of a managerial approach to the Smart City transition. With the participation of :

 

Amandine Caprasse - SID22

Wavre - Logo - PNG - Vert

Amandine Caprasse, Director of Strategy and Attractiveness at the City of Wavre

Trained as a bioengineer and management engineer, the first 10 years of Amandine Caprasse's professional career focused primarily on project management in different sectors (associative, private, public) and different geographical areas (Western Europe and West Africa).
She entered the "Smart City" theme as a consultant for the City of Wavre to set up a digital portal in 2018. She was then hired by the City of Wavre at the end of 2019 as a TSP referent and was responsible for setting up a portfolio management and project management process. Finally, at the end of 2021, an overhaul of the organisation chart enabled her to take over the reins of the "Strategy and Attractiveness" division. Composed of 8 departments (support and business), the division deals with various Smart City themes: sustainable development, organisational strategy, portfolio and project management, the user experience and citizen participation.

 

Amelie Debroux - SID22 (2)

Hannut estavous Quadri

Amélie Debroux, General Director of the City of Hannut

Amélie Debroux has a degree in human resources management and a complementary diploma in public administration (2005). She was successively Secretary of the CPAS of Hélécine (2008), Secretary of the CPAS of Hannut (2010), and in 2013 became Director General of the City of Hannut (16,800 inhabitants).
Passionate about local government, she is keen to make her municipality shine through innovative projects. As a 2018 alumni of the SCI Smart Cities management course, she is aware of the importance of being agile in order to find solutions that will provide a better service to citizens by integrating all stakeholders.

Récemment, la ville de Hannut a remporté plusieurs prix avec son projet d'application Ride & Buy : En octobre, elle a remporté le prix « Smart Commune 2022 » dans le cadre du concours Digital Wallonia Awards - Territoire intelligent et connecté mais aussi le prix "App Champ of the Year 2022" remis par Feweb. Elle s’est vu également décerner en avril dernier le Prix Ardent 2022 des communes pour son application.

Recently, the city of Hannut has won several awards with its Ride & Buy application project: In October, it won the "Smart Commune 2022" award in the Digital Wallonia Awards - Smart and Connected Territory competition and also the "App Champ of the Year 2022" award from Feweb. In April, it was also awarded the Ardent 2022 Prize for municipalities for its application.

 

Isabelle Rawart - SID22 - final

adn-couleur-rvb-sans-baseline.png

 

Isabelle Rawart, Smart Territory Advisor at the Agence du Numérique

Within the Foresight and Territorial Intelligence Unit of the AdN (Digital Agency), Isabelle covers various themes such as smart mobility, smart energy, smart commerce, e-tourism, e-health but also territorial open data, hoping to see the completion of data deposits that will allow to feed future digital twins in Wallonia. It is also working to develop and coordinate a real collaborative governance in Wallonia in this area, particularly with referents such as the Smart City Institute, so that supply and demand can be brought together. With more than 25 years of experience, it supports the various local and supralocal authorities in the various stages of their digital transformation, while enabling the emergence of an ecosystem of local service providers and interoperable smart city solutions. At the origin of the dedicated calls for projects, it works to replicate the subsidised projects throughout the territory, to obtain territorial platforms and to increase the application micro-services offered to our citizens.
#4
The role of a business school in the Smart City transition Panel discussion with Thomas Froehlicher, General Director & Dean of Rennes School of Business and Wilfried Niessen, General Director & Dean of HEC Liege
+

See this discussion in details

To conclude the plenary session, the SCI will have the pleasure to welcome the Directors and Deans of two business schools - HEC Liège, and Rennes School of Business. Through their own experience, this discussion in the form of crossed views will be an opportunity to address the strategic role of management as well as models, methods and tools from a management school in the framework of a sustainable and intelligent transition of territories. With the participation of :

 

Thomas Froehlicher - SID22 - 2

rennes-school-of-business-logo

Thomas Froehlicher, General Director & Dean of Rennes School of Business

Thomas Froehlicher has been General Director of Rennes School of Business since 1 January 2018. He is a regular speaker on international accreditation panels for business schools (AACSB and EQUIS). He is also Vice-President of the Conférence des Grandes Ecoles, in charge of the International Commission.  
He previously worked as General Director and Dean of Kedge Business School, HEC Liège, and ICN Business School, and as General Delegate of ARTEM Nancy. He has been an ordinary professor of strategic management at the University of Lorraine since 2001 (currently on leave).

 

Wilfried Niessen - SID 22

HEC-logo-banner-site

Wilfried Niessen, General Director & Dean of HEC Liege

 Wilfried Niessen has been active in lecturing and business management for 30 years. He set up four companies in the fields of information technology for management (ERP), advising and accountancy-taxation. He is a chartered accountant and tax specialist. For many years, he has combined solid practical experience and lecturing through various publications (Comprenez votre comptable, Versta uw boekhouder, Tableau de Bord et business plan, etc.) and high-level training in public companies and institutions. His areas of expertise are accountancy, business simulations, finance for non-financial managers, IT for management and the setting up of businesses. He is a consultant and trainer for businesses. The last 10 years, his professional focus has been the Business School. He has taught at ESCA, Shenzhen University, Fachhochschule Würzburg. He is member of the Advisory Board of Hohenheim University. Since 2011, he is member of the Board of Director of HEC Liège, first as Academic Director for Strategic Development, then Interim Dean, Director of EXED, First Vice-Dean and now Dean and Director General since 2017.

Networking

Finally, following the conferences and the panel discussion, we invite you to take part in a convivial networking moment, from 16:30 to 18:30, as a drink. After 2 editions organised remotely, this 2022 edition is the ideal opportunity to renew contact, but also to continue exchanges with the Walloon Smart City/Smart Region ecosystem and to federate a real network. Thematic discussion tables will also be proposed during the event.

How to register

Registration is free of charge (but mandatory) and can be done online, via our registration form, until Tuesday 22 November 2022. Limited number of participants.

 

REGISTER NOW

 

Contacts and questions: if you have any questions about the content of this event and/or your registration, please contact us: sci@uliege.be 

 


Event partners 
With the support of Wallonia in the framework of its Smart Region programme, part of its Digital Wallonia strategy.

Share this page

Smart Inspiration Day 2022 - L'événement annuel du Smart City Institute revient à nouveau en présentiel, après 2 années organisées en distanciel ! Une cinquième édition pour évoquer, au travers de conférences, de discussions mais aussi d'un moment networking, le rôle crucial de la gestion dans la transition durable et intelligente des territoires. 

SID22 Site Image large - Logo 

SMART INSPIRATION DAY 2022
Un événement inspirant suivi de 2h de networking
Jeudi 24 novembre 2022
De 14:00 à 18:30 - HEC Liège

JE M'INSCRIS

En quoi la gestion constitue-t-elle une porte d'entrée particulièrement adaptée et pertinente pour initier une réflexion transversale nécessaire à toute démarche de transition durable et intelligente ? Et quels sont les leviers d'action et outils à votre disposition ?


De par les multiples enjeux auxquels elle tend à apporter une réponse, chaque démarche de transition durable et intelligente entreprise par un territoire requiert, assez logiquement, l'implication de différentes disciplines tout au long du processus. Si cette dynamique est avant tout multidisciplinaire, une d'entre elle s'avère toutefois constituer un véritable carrefour entre les différentes disciplines qui  touchent au développement des Smart Cities : la gestion (qui touche, par exemple, aux notions de stratégie, de gouvernance, de financements, de business models, etc.) 

A travers les différentes interventions de nos experts et les retours d'expérience de plusieurs villes, dont Agadir (Maroc), Wavre ou encore Hannut (Belgique), nous vous proposons lors de ce nouvel événement d'évoquer ensemble le rôle utile, voire essentiel de la gestion ainsi que des modèles, méthodes et outils issus d'une école de gestion dans le cadre d'une transition durable et intelligente des territoires.

Nous aurons également le plaisir de recevoir, lors de l'introduction de la séance plénière, Monsieur Benoit Hucq, Directeur général de l'Agence du Numérique.

Les conférences

#1
Formaliser sa stratégie Smart City : quels impacts ? Conférence avec Jessica Clément, chercheuse post-doctorante au Smart City Institute
+

Voir le détail de cette conférence

En tant que territoire engagé dans un processus de transition durable et intelligente, en quoi la formalisation d'une stratégie Smart City peut-elle représenter un atout ? Formaliser sa stratégie fait-il une différence et quels en sont les impacts positifs concrets identifiés ? Lors de son intervention, Jessica Clément, chercheuse au Smart City Institute, propose de revenir sur les résultats issus de plusieurs recherches menées à l’institut afin de mettre en évidence les retombées significatives observées sur l’ensemble de la dynamique Smart City, lorsque les territoires ont formalisé leur stratégie.

 

Jessica Clement - SIDay22

Logo SCITag - Signature mail  

Par Jessica Clément, Chercheuse post-doctorante au Smart City Institute.

Dr. Jessica Clement est chercheuse postdoctorante au Smart City Institute de l'école de gestion HEC Liège, où elle étudie les politiques et stratégies publiques pour les villes intelligentes (« smart cities ») et les transitions urbaines durables, ainsi que le développement d'écosystèmes collaboratifs dans les villes intelligentes.

Titulaire depuis 2018 d'un doctorat en économie (concentré sur l'économie politique institutionnelle) de l'Université de Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, elle a auparavant occupé un poste postdoctoral à l'École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), où elle a collaboré avec la Groupe international d'experts sur les ressources (« International Resource Panel », IRP) pour contribuer aux rapports sur la gestion des ressources naturelles et la gouvernance des industries extractives. Elle a également contribué à l'organisation du Forum des ressources mondiales (« World Resources Forum », WRF) 2019 à Genève, en Suisse.

Avant d'obtenir son doctorat, Jessica Clément a suivi à l'Université de Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne le programme de Master 1 en économie (PSME) et le Master 2 Economie Appliquée. Elle est également titulaire d'un bachelor de l'Université McGill (Canada).

#2
Démarche Smart Territory : levier de transition de la ville d'Agadir Conférence avec Zakaria Oulad, Conseiller communal en charge du projet "Agadir Smart City"
+

Voir le détail de cette conférence

Après avoir été rasée par un tremblement de terre en 1960, Agadir réussi à renaitre rapidement de ses cendres grâce à un élan de solidarité internationale. Elle deviendra l’une des villes les plus modernes d’Afrique et une destination privilégiée des Européens en quête de soleil et de quiétude. La ville baissant sa garde connaitra dès l'an 2000 une vingtaine d’années de régression continue avant le coup de grâce asséné par la pandémie de Covid-19.

Aujourd’hui, Agadir renait une deuxième fois de ses cendres. Mais si la volonté est la même, les défis sont différents et les recettes du succès doivent donc également être adaptées. C’est une démarche de Smart Territory qui est appliquée cette fois-ci pour faire d'Agadir une métropole d'avenir. L'objectif ultime est de réussir une transition durable et intelligente pour et par les citoyens dans le respect des objectifs de développements durables et en utilisant les technologies – notamment nouvelles – en tant que moyen de facilitation de cette démarche. Les premiers résultats sont d'ailleurs très prometteurs.

 

Zakaria Oulad - SID 22

Logo - Ville Agadir - Fond blanc

Par Zakaria Oulad, Conseiller communal en charge du projet Agadir Smart City

Zakaria Oulad est conseiller communal en charge du projet Agadir Smart City à Agadir-MAROC. C’est également un entrepreneur averti et un consultant senior disposant d’une solide expérience internationale en Stratégie, Gouvernance, Digitalisation et Développement d’affaires. Il a notamment travaillé pour Accenture et Deloitte en Belgique et en Australie avant de se lancer dans l’entrepreneuriat puis dans la vie politique. Zakaria détient un Bachelor en Informatique de l’HELB et un Master en gestion de l’ULB. Il est marié et papa de quatre enfants.

Discussions - Panel et regards croisés

#3
Pourquoi et comment professionnaliser sa transition Smart City ? Panel de discussion avec Amandine Caprasse (Ville de Wavre), Amélie Debroux (Ville de Hannut) et Isabelle Rawart (Agence du Numérique)
+

Voir le détail de ce panel

Lors de cette discussion, nos panelistes partageront leur retour d'expérience concernant la gestion durable et intelligente des territoires en Wallonie. Ce panel sera donc l'occasion de revenir sur les enjeux clés et les bonnes pratiques dans le cadre d'une approche managériale de la transition Smart City. Avec la participation de :

 

Amandine Caprasse - SID22

Wavre - Logo - PNG - Vert

Amandine Caprasse, Directrice Stratégie et Attractivité à la Ville de Wavre

De formation bioingénieure et ingénieure en gestion, les 10 ères années de la carrière professionnelle d'Amandine Caprasse se sont focalisées avant tout sur la gestion de projet dans différents secteurs (associatif, privé, public) et différentes zones géographiques (Europe de l’Ouest et Afrique de l’Ouest).
Elle est rentrée dans la thématique « Smart City » en tant que consultante à la Ville de Wavre pour mettre en place un portail numérique en 2018. Engagée ensuite fin 2019 par la Ville en tant que référente PST, elle a eu pour responsabilité de mettre en place un processus de gestion de portefeuille et de gestion de projet. Enfin, fin 2021, une refonte de l’organigramme lui a permis de prendre les rênes du pôle « Stratégie et Attractivité ». Composé de 8 services (support et métier), le pôle touche à différentes thématiques de la Smart City : développement durable, stratégie d’une organisation, gestion de portefeuille et projet, le parcours usagers ainsi que la participation citoyenne.

 

Amelie Debroux - SID22 (2)

Hannut estavous Quadri

Amélie Debroux, Directrice générale de la Ville de Hannut

Licenciée en gestion des ressources humaines et titulaire d’un diplôme complémentaire en administration publique (2005), Amélie Debroux a été successivement Secrétaire du CPAS de Hélécine (2008), Secrétaire du CPAS de Hannut (2010), pour ensuite devenir en 2013 Directrice générale de la Ville de Hannut (16.800 habitants).
Passionnée par les pouvoirs locaux, elle a à cœur de faire rayonner sa commune grâce à des projets innovants. Alumni 2018 de la formation en management des Smart Cities dispensée par le SCI, elle est sensibilisée à l’importance de faire preuve d’agilité afin de trouver des solutions qui rendront un meilleur service aux citoyens en intégrant toutes les parties prenantes.

Récemment, la ville de Hannut a remporté plusieurs prix avec son projet d'application Ride & Buy : En octobre, elle a remporté le prix « Smart Commune 2022 » dans le cadre du concours Digital Wallonia Awards - Territoire intelligent et connecté mais aussi le prix "App Champ of the Year 2022" remis par Feweb. Elle s’est vu également décerner en avril dernier le Prix Ardent 2022 des communes pour son application.

 

Isabelle Rawart - SID22 - final

adn-couleur-rvb-sans-baseline.png

 

Isabelle Rawart, Conseillère en Smart Territoire à l’Agence du Numérique

Au sein du Pôle Prospective et Intelligence territoriale de l’AdN (Agence du Numérique), Isabelle Rawart couvre des thématiques variées telle que la smart mobility, la smart energy, le smart commerce, l’e-tourisme, l’e-santé mais aussi l’open data territoriale, espérant voir aboutir des gisements de données qui permettront d’alimenter de futurs jumeaux numériques en Wallonie. Elle s’attèle également à développer et coordonner en Wallonie une vraie gouvernance collaborative en la matière, notamment avec des référents tels que le Smart City Institute, de manière à se faire rejoindre l’offre et la demande. Forte de son expérience de plus de 25 ans, elle accompagne les divers pouvoirs locaux et supralocaux dans les diverses étapes de leur transformation digitale, tout en permettant l’émergence d’un écosystème de prestataires locaux et de solutions smart city interopérables. A l’origine des appels à projets dédiés, elle œuvre à répliquer les projets subsidiés sur tout le territoire, à l’obtention de plateformes territoriales et à accroître les micro-services applicatifs offerts à nos citoyens.
#4
Le rôle d'une école de gestion dans la transition Smart City Discussion avec Thomas Froehlicher, Directeur général et Doyen de Rennes School of Business et Wilfried Niessen, Directeur général et Doyen de HEC Liège
+

Voir le détail de cette discussion

Pour conclure la séance plénière, le SCI aura le plaisir de recevoir les Directeurs et Doyens de 2 écoles de gestion - HEC Liège, et Rennes School of Business. A travers leur propre expérience, cette discussion sous forme de regards croisés sera l'occasion d'aborder le rôle stratégique de la gestion ainsi que des modèles, méthodes et outils issus d'une école de gestion dans le cadre d'une transition durable et intelligente des territoires. Avec la participation de :

 

Thomas Froehlicher - SID22 - 2

rennes-school-of-business-logo

Thomas Froehlicher, Directeur général et Doyen de Rennes School of Business

Thomas Froehlicher est Directeur général de Rennes School of Business depuis le 1er janvier 2018. Il intervient régulièrement dans des panels d’accréditations internationales au sein des écoles de management (AACSB et EQUIS). Il est également Vice-Président de la Conférence des Grandes Ecoles, en charge de la Commission Internationale.  
Il a précédemment rempli le rôle de Directeur Général et Doyen de Kedge Business School, HEC Liège, et ICN Business School, et de délégué général d'ARTEM Nancy. Il est professeur ordinaire de management stratégique à l'Université de Lorraine depuis 2001 (actuellement en disponibilité).

 

Wilfried Niessen - SID 22

HEC-logo-banner-site

Wilfried Niessen, Directeur général et Doyen de HEC Liège

Wilfried Niessen est actif depuis 30 ans dans l'enseignement et la gestion d'entreprise. Il a créé quatre entreprises dans les domaines de l'informatique de gestion (ERP), du conseil et de la comptabilité-fiscalité. Il est expert-comptable et fiscaliste. Depuis de nombreuses années, il combine une solide expérience pratique et une activité de conférencier au travers de diverses publications (Comprenez votre comptable, Versta uw boekhouder, Tableau de Bord et business plan, etc.) et de formations de haut niveau dans des entreprises et institutions publiques. Ses domaines d'expertise sont la comptabilité, les simulations d'entreprise, la finance pour les non-financiers, l'informatique de gestion et la création d'entreprise. Il est consultant et formateur pour les entreprises. Au cours des 10 dernières années, il s'est concentré sur l'école de commerce. Il a enseigné à l'ESCA, à l'université de Shenzhen et à la Fachhochschule Würzburg. Il est membre du conseil consultatif de l'université de Hohenheim. Depuis 2011, il est membre du Conseil d'administration de HEC Liège, d'abord en tant que directeur académique pour le développement stratégique, puis doyen intérimaire, directeur de EXED, premier vice-doyen et maintenant doyen et directeur général depuis 2017.

Le networking

Enfin, dans la foulée des conférences et des discussions, nous vous invitons à prendre part , de 16:30 à 18:30, à un moment convivial de networking, sous forme de drink. Après 2 éditions organisées en distanciel, cette édition 2022 est l'occasion idéale de renouer le contact, mais aussi de reprendre les échanges avec l'écosystème Smart City/Smart Région wallon et de fédérer un véritable réseau. Des tables de discussion thématiques seront par ailleurs proposées durant celui-ci.

Modalités d'inscription

Toute inscription est gratuite (mais obligatoire) et s'effectue en ligne, via notre formulaire d'inscription, jusqu'au mardi 22 novembre 2022. Nombre de places limité.

 

JE M'INSCRIS

 

Contacts et questions : pour toute question relative au contenu de cet événement et/ou à votre inscription, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter : sci@uliege.be 


Partenaires de l'événement 
Avec le soutien de la Wallonie dans le cadre de son programme Smart Region, partie intégrante de sa stratégie Digital Wallonia.

Partagez cette page